My Senior Bucket List (… And Looking Back)

As I begin my last semester of college, I’m beginning to feel nostalgic about my last four years at Whitman. Looking back on all the experiences I have had while being a student makes me appreciate and value what this school has given me. Each semester at Whitman has been unique. You live in different places, you take different classes, you try new things, and you meet new people. I haven’t had just one single “Whitman experience”; I’ve had many. Together they make up this beautiful journey and thrilling ride which is college. I stayed up late nights studying with friends in the library. I went to lectures that changed my perspective and my goals in life. I took classes from professors that challenged and pushed me. I went on trips and spent countless hours outdoor, lying in the sun, going on runs, or tossing a Frisbee. I tried ultimate Frisbee and rock climbing for the first time. I fell in love with flag football. I changed my major. And my post-Whitman aspirations. And my career goals. I took on different roles and responsibilities. I volunteered and worked in the Walla Walla community, expanding out of the bubble that Whitman can be. I was inspired, stimulated, tested, and excited by learning and intellectual growth. I met the most amazing people. I belonged.

It’s been quite an adventure and as I look back, I’m also looking forward to these last few months as a Whittie and my last semester “bucket list”. I still want to accomplish things I have yet to do. I want to take the ski bus to Bluewood and go skiing for a day. I want to watch a baseball game. I want to go salsa dancing in downtown Walla Walla. I want to go on a bike ride through the wheatfields. I want to write an awesome thesis and be proud when I am done. I want to stand up on graduation day and know that I put everything I had into my Whitman experience and emerged a better and stronger person. Being on the cusp of holding a college degree and entering the “real world” is daunting and exhilarating. However, I feel secure knowing that Whitman and my experience here has prepared me for whatever life may bring me.

Leave a Reply

